YouTube videos for GP2

Here you can present your WIP or new cars and/or stuff you made for GP2
User avatar
jakesanson
GP2 Acc
Posts: 666
Joined: 31.10.2008, 21:37
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

YouTube videos for GP2

Post by jakesanson »

Hey guys.

Been trying to work out how on earth to make videos fit for YouTube using GP2. I want to show everyone what the WRL looks like, but can't do it because I can't make videos for YouTube.

Can someone show me how to do it?
Find me on @jakesansonofficial or www.jakesanson.com
Voice of the FIA Karting World and European Championships, IAME Euro & Asia Series, and more.

Commentated at the British Grand Prix for Formula 1 in 2019 and the Le Mans 24 Hours for ACO in 2016. Yep, I can't believe it either.....

Come and play the RRML using Grand Prix 2 via Downforce Racing YouTube channel!
HF
GP2 Star
Posts: 1168
Joined: 08.09.2006, 16:14
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by HF »

It is not that difficult:

1) Download CamStudio or any other recording program and install it.
2) Run the CamStudio recorder (click on enable sound and change video mode to avi), click on record and run GP2 with the modded carset.
3) After ending the record, you are asked where to save the file. do it and download a converter like this

3.A) Use any Video edit program to touch-up the video ;-)

4) Use the converter to convert the video into mp4.
5) Open your youtube account, click on upload video and follow the steps ;-)

Do you struggle with this short explanation?
- . -
User avatar
AAS
GP2 Star
Posts: 1069
Joined: 08.09.2006, 17:19
Contact:

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by AAS »

This is what I do:

Run GP2 in a window.
With a virtual PC (i use Microsoft virtual PC 2007 and win98) or with dosbox.

Capture the window with CamStudio
http://sourceforge.net/projects/camstudio/
or
http://camstudio.org/

Convert the recorded video with Format Factory
http://www.formatoz.com/
to .wmv

Cut, edit and save the video with Windows Movie Maker

Upload the wmv to YouTube
User avatar
Wilian Souza
GP2 Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 27.05.2010, 21:43

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by Wilian Souza »

HF wrote:It is not that difficult:

1) Download CamStudio or any other recording program and install it.
2) Run the CamStudio recorder (click on enable sound and change video mode to avi), click on record and run GP2 with the modded carset.
But does it work with GP2Lap running via VDMS or do I need to run GP2 with Virtual Box to record videos of the game?
User avatar
MaxX
GP2 Pro
Posts: 990
Joined: 28.02.2007, 11:41
Location: Salzburg, Austria

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by MaxX »

Camstudio can only record audio from a microphone, no music or similar things. At least that version I use, maybe there`s a newer one, I didn`t check that. The major disadvantage is that the audio is not stored at the correct position in longer videos, you switch to 6th gear and after one second you hear it, for instance.

When I wanted to record audio I used a small microphone, which I once got as present ages ago ;) But DosBox can also record audio, here are some examples (no GP2 related vids, just to view the quality).

Recorded with DosBox:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ssx0R9aaWIo

Recorded with Camstudio and a microphone:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXKThXmVvAg
User avatar
AAS
GP2 Star
Posts: 1069
Joined: 08.09.2006, 17:19
Contact:

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by AAS »

Code: Select all

Camstudio can only record audio from a microphone
CamStudio is able to record all screen and audio activity on your computer.
Without a microphone.
I have Camstudio 2.0 installed

In Camstudio click "Options" and choose "Record Audio from Microphone".
Then click "Options" - "Audio Options" - "Audio Options for Microphone".
In the new window "Audio Options for Microphone" you can set your "Audio capture device".

Interesting site: http://camstudio.org/forum/
http://terrybritton.com/camstudio-setti ... -sync-212/
User avatar
MaxX
GP2 Pro
Posts: 990
Joined: 28.02.2007, 11:41
Location: Salzburg, Austria

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by MaxX »

Great, it seems that there are now 2 possibities to record the sound :D
User avatar
jakesanson
GP2 Acc
Posts: 666
Joined: 31.10.2008, 21:37
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by jakesanson »

Thanks for this, I'll have to spend a day messing about with it in order to prepare for WRL 2011!!!
Find me on @jakesansonofficial or www.jakesanson.com
Voice of the FIA Karting World and European Championships, IAME Euro & Asia Series, and more.

Commentated at the British Grand Prix for Formula 1 in 2019 and the Le Mans 24 Hours for ACO in 2016. Yep, I can't believe it either.....

Come and play the RRML using Grand Prix 2 via Downforce Racing YouTube channel!
V12-Power
GP2 Star
Posts: 1051
Joined: 19.09.2006, 20:33
Contact:

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by V12-Power »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Esdh9xRo5ac
I finally was able to capture a short video, after fiddeling around some time I even got the sound working. Too bad the processor occupancy is about 350% when there is more than one car on the screen. So I can't capture races in a proper quality, only test-drives are possible... :(
Visit my website: FK's sportscar project
User avatar
AAS
GP2 Star
Posts: 1069
Joined: 08.09.2006, 17:19
Contact:

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by AAS »

Is this captured with
Dosbox - CamStudio?
Virtual PC - CamStudio?
or dosbox video capture? http://www.dosbox.com/wiki/Recording_Video

or?
V12-Power
GP2 Star
Posts: 1051
Joined: 19.09.2006, 20:33
Contact:

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by V12-Power »

It's captured with Dosbox and CamStudio. With the Dosbox video-capture-function the game stumbles even when I theres only one car on the screen. Maybe I should try the virtual PC thing again, once I tried to make it work without success.

The PC I'm using is an AMD Phenom 9500 Quad-Core 2.20 Ghz, with 3.25GB RAM and Win XP. Actually I thought GP2 would run properly with using Dosbox.
Visit my website: FK's sportscar project
User avatar
AAS
GP2 Star
Posts: 1069
Joined: 08.09.2006, 17:19
Contact:

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by AAS »

Which Dosbox version?

Maybe you can have a better PO with this Tutorial:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=677&start=0&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

-0.73 with better speed
or with
-DOSBox 0.74 which is the fastest on my PC
V12-Power
GP2 Star
Posts: 1051
Joined: 19.09.2006, 20:33
Contact:

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by V12-Power »

I currently use v0.74. But with v0.73 I was also not able to finde the right number of CPU cycles, but this was some time ago. I think I'll install v0.73 again and try out if the information from the tutorial helps to find a good number.
Visit my website: FK's sportscar project
User avatar
DEHUMANIZER95
GP2 Racer
Posts: 360
Joined: 27.03.2010, 18:21
Contact:

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by DEHUMANIZER95 »

now see the difference of the speed of my 2 videos:

Old one:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n5xM9xh-FdM

New one:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BgVAt8Bp_Dk


To your Information:
GrandPrix2Fan and ClassicGameingFan are some of my YT acc´s
Image
V12-Power
GP2 Star
Posts: 1051
Joined: 19.09.2006, 20:33
Contact:

Re: YouTube videos for GP2

Post by V12-Power »

The new one is still way too slow. The laptime says 41 seconds, but the time elapsed in the video are about 80 seconds (from 0:38 - 2:02 circa). But I agree that it runs smoother than the old one.
Visit my website: FK's sportscar project
Post Reply