the flow of time in gp2

Here you can post criticisms, ideas or questions to the forum!
User avatar
GP2tifoso28
GP2 Starter
Posts: 81
Joined: 29.09.2015, 14:21

Re: the flow of time in gp2

Post by GP2tifoso28 » 09.10.2019, 11:42

samsepi0l wrote:
09.10.2019, 07:33
make sure you are using the 32 bit version, not the 64... big difference in PO there....
I'll double check, that reminds me of something you said in the other post:
In a bid of desperation- I posted this as a question on the VOGONS forum. I received a tip from a user that I want to give credit to "Qbix":

If you haven't: compile/get a 32 bit version of dosbox. (apt-get install dosbox:i386)

you might need to add the architecture
dpkg --add-architecture i386
apt-get update

It's considerably faster.
If I have the 32 bit version do you still recommend that I do this? I did some research on what you wrote (because I didn't understand what dosbox:i386 is) but I couldn't find any clear answer so I put it to the side while I was testing out ECE

User avatar
samsepi0l
GP2 Starter
Posts: 71
Joined: 01.03.2019, 01:39

Re: the flow of time in gp2

Post by samsepi0l » 09.10.2019, 18:36

GP2tifoso28 wrote:
09.10.2019, 11:42
If I have the 32 bit version do you still recommend that I do this? I did some research on what you wrote (because I didn't understand what dosbox:i386 is) but I couldn't find any clear answer so I put it to the side while I was testing out ECE
Those instructions are for linux- are you using windows?

with windows, all you need to do is download the appropriate .exe file and install it.

User avatar
GP2tifoso28
GP2 Starter
Posts: 81
Joined: 29.09.2015, 14:21

Re: the flow of time in gp2

Post by GP2tifoso28 » 18.10.2019, 05:55

samsepi0l wrote:
09.10.2019, 18:36
GP2tifoso28 wrote:
09.10.2019, 11:42
If I have the 32 bit version do you still recommend that I do this? I did some research on what you wrote (because I didn't understand what dosbox:i386 is) but I couldn't find any clear answer so I put it to the side while I was testing out ECE
Those instructions are for linux- are you using windows?

with windows, all you need to do is download the appropriate .exe file and install it.
Yes I'm using Windows, funny enough I can't find any reference to what version of dosbox I'm running, there is no reference to 32 or 64 bit in any of the documents or conf file, but after consulting the website of the dosbox ECE creator I discovered that ECE only comes in 32bit version.

All in all I'm quite happy with this dosbox version, with the mirrors and sky off I can usually run 25fps. I'm running the conf file very "light" though, anything that can be turned off is turned off, no scalers etc.. I still need to experiment to find the best settings, there's a lot to wrap your head around with some of these "experimental" dosbox versions but at least I can run the sim at the normal speed

DaSilva82
GP2 Starter
Posts: 52
Joined: 03.02.2017, 00:22

Re: the flow of time in gp2

Post by DaSilva82 » 12.11.2019, 20:57

Hello guys,

I downloaded and installed Dosbox ECE yesterday and it works like a charme for me.
Framerate to the maximum, PO stays well under 100, better graphics (like rremedio said) and a very smooth ride on my testcircuit Singapore.
The only thing that was bothering me was the fact that I lost the sense of speed in the car. It was going around like a heavy truck.
Don't know if any of you had the same thing here? Anyway I got rid of this by adjusting the "cockpitzoom" value in the GP2Lap conf file from default 256 to 300. It feels like a F1 car again.
ECE is a real recommendation for this game!
The winner ain't the one with the fastest car, it's the one who refuses to lose.

roland ratzenberger
GP2 Gamer
Posts: 225
Joined: 18.03.2010, 23:51

Re: the flow of time in gp2

Post by roland ratzenberger » 16.11.2019, 18:59

hello maybe i will give it a try.. but i cannot understand what is the difference bewteen ece and daum.. in any case to the momennt i will stick with daum

Post Reply