Visual Basic

Smalltalk
Here you can post everything which doesn't fit into the other forums!
Greyhead
GP2 Star

Visual Basic

Post by Greyhead »

Anyone know anything about this?

Basically I've hit upon an idea that will make it easier to come up with car bitmaps, I've had a quick look at using Visual Basic to apply it. I'm fairly sure it can be done but I don't really know how to go about it as I've never used it before.

As some of you may know, I use Paint.NET and the quadrilateral reshape plug-in effect to build up car bitmaps and the reshape each texture to fit the standard GP2 bitmap. However the reshape effect isn't all that accurate. So instead it'd be more accurate to resize groups of pixels within each texture, then resize the whole texture to fit. However this is hugely time-consuming and very dull.

Now I know you can resize images using Visual Basic (although I don't actually know how), but is it possible to resize individual parts of a bitmap, then use those parts to build up a new bitmap?

I realise this all sounds a bit complicated and I probably haven't explained it very well but if anyone can help I'd be very grateful.
Wander over to http://www.facebook.com/PixelDreamsGP2 and click "Like" for updates and screenshots from the world of PixelDreams!
rremedio
GP2 Legend

Re: Visual Basic

Post by rremedio »

I need to take a look at my books. I work with Visual Basic (the Slot Editor was made using VB.net, while the physics editor was made using VB6) but I've never used it to edit image files.

Anyway, I've tried to reshape images with several programs, including Photoshop and Paint Shop Pro, and they never give great results, so I think it's not an easy thing to do. But maybe it's worth a try.
"The Fox provides for himself. but God provides for the Lion"
Early 90s F1 forever!
Greyhead
GP2 Star

Post by Greyhead »

It's VB.Net I've got, can't get my head around it though...