GP2 Video Footage Project

Here you can post questions about GP2, your favourite GP2 things and errorreports/problems!
User avatar
jakesanson
GP2 Acc
Posts: 631
Joined: 31.10.2008, 21:37
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by jakesanson » 29.11.2012, 22:06

Hello folks,

Back from the GP2 graveyeard, jakesanson here once again!

Things have changed a lot for me since I last played the game, my old PC died forever which means I can no longer play the game but I still yearn to stay involved. So I have a proposition.

I am now a professional TV commentator and presenter for several motorsport series in Britain, and I like to practice to stay sharp so I was wondering if we can do some GP2 backed racing series for me to commentate on, and create a new YouTube channel for it to be broadcast on.

Some of you may remember the old WRL (World Racing League) I created which ran well for two years, and I'd kinda like to recreate this idea. If I can send the carset, carshapes, race circuits and race formats I would like everything to run to, perhaps someone could run the races, record the video footage (sound included), I can then commentate on the races, send back the video and audio commentary and the races can be posted on YouTube, rather like the way that rFactor series are broadcast.

Who would be up for this, and who has the capability to do this? Can we get this going for 2013?

For those who are interested in what I'm up to:

www.downforce-uk.blogspot.com
Downforce Radio
The Nation's Motorsport Station

Live race coverage, banter, competitions and discussion all week long!

http://www.downforce-radio.co.uk

@DownforceRadio on Facebook and Twitter
Find us on iTunes, Spreaker, Stitcher and YouTube!

User avatar
rremedio
GP2 Star
Posts: 1198
Joined: 14.01.2007, 15:05

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by rremedio » 29.11.2012, 23:38

Hi Jake! Nice to have you back!

That's a great idea. I can't help you right now becouse I won't be able to upload a video with my current connection problems, but for 2013, who knows?

By the way: why can't you make GP2 run on your current PC?

Nice to hear about your job! Good luck with that..enjoy it!
"The Fox provides for himself. but God provides for the Lion" - The Marriage of Heaven and Hell by William Blake

Image

User avatar
jakesanson
GP2 Acc
Posts: 631
Joined: 31.10.2008, 21:37
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by jakesanson » 29.11.2012, 23:53

Windows 7 so I have no idea how-to play it on a new laptop!!
Downforce Radio
The Nation's Motorsport Station

Live race coverage, banter, competitions and discussion all week long!

http://www.downforce-radio.co.uk

@DownforceRadio on Facebook and Twitter
Find us on iTunes, Spreaker, Stitcher and YouTube!

User avatar
rremedio
GP2 Star
Posts: 1198
Joined: 14.01.2007, 15:05

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by rremedio » 30.11.2012, 01:15

jakesanson wrote:Windows 7 so I have no idea how-to play it on a new laptop!!
I have Win7 and I play it with DosBox. VirtualBox + Win98 seems to be good too.
"The Fox provides for himself. but God provides for the Lion" - The Marriage of Heaven and Hell by William Blake

Image

User avatar
AAS
GP2 Star
Posts: 1035
Joined: 08.09.2006, 17:19
Contact:

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by AAS » 30.11.2012, 04:15

jakesanson wrote:Windows 7 so I have no idea how-to play it on a new laptop!!
try this:
http://www.grandprix2.de/Anleitung/dosb ... osbox.html
and this: D-Fend Reloaded 1.3.2 installer
http://dfendreloaded.sourceforge.net/Do ... ml?lang=en

Works on my son's Laptop - Win7
and on my new Laptop - Win8

(nocd.exe doesn't work under Win8, this part in the tutorial must be changed.
Win8 User start the nocd.exe with D-Fend Reloaded)

jujuandhuhu
GP2 Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: 27.01.2012, 02:06

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by jujuandhuhu » 02.12.2012, 01:08

AAS wrote:
jakesanson wrote:Windows 7 so I have no idea how-to play it on a new laptop!!
try this:
http://www.grandprix2.de/Anleitung/dosb ... osbox.html
and this: D-Fend Reloaded 1.3.2 installer
http://dfendreloaded.sourceforge.net/Do ... ml?lang=en

Works on my son's Laptop - Win7
and on my new Laptop - Win8

(nocd.exe doesn't work under Win8, this part in the tutorial must be changed.
Win8 User start the nocd.exe with D-Fend Reloaded)
I tried using this method and the games runs smoothly. The processor occupancy is never over 100%, except at the start.

However, I'm still having timing problems. For example, a 1m36s lap in the game, takes only 1m13s in reality. This means that the game is running 30% faster than it should.
It's not really enjoyable to play, because everything is happening too fast.

Is there any way to fix this problem?
How do you and other players deal with it?

User avatar
RacerBG
GP2 Pro
Posts: 999
Joined: 09.08.2010, 17:57
Location: Bulgaria

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by RacerBG » 02.12.2012, 09:34

Maybe you should slow down DOSBOX. Had you selected all graphics options ON? Another way is to go to dosbox.config turn true fulldouble. Just turn true every thing that can slow down the program. :wink:

User avatar
AAS
GP2 Star
Posts: 1035
Joined: 08.09.2006, 17:19
Contact:

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by AAS » 02.12.2012, 16:34

jujuandhuhu wrote: I tried using this method and the games runs smoothly. The processor occupancy is never over 100%, except at the start.

However, I'm still having timing problems. For example, a 1m36s lap in the game, takes only 1m13s in reality. This means that the game is running 30% faster than it should.
It's not really enjoyable to play, because everything is happening too fast.

Is there any way to fix this problem?
How do you and other players deal with it?
Set everything in the "Graphic Detail Level" in the game to maximum, also the "Frame Rate".

still too fast?

Adjust the CPU Cycles while running the game. CTRL + F12 and CTRL + F11.

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=677

in german
http://www.winhistory-forum.net/showthread.php?tid=5999

jujuandhuhu
GP2 Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: 27.01.2012, 02:06

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by jujuandhuhu » 03.12.2012, 00:56

Thanks for the advice, guys.

I was hoping there was a simple way to fix the timing, irrespective of the processor occupancy. Since the game is still very popular, I assumed there was some sort of solution I didn't know about.
It's funny how F1GP has no timing issues, despite it being a much older game.

User avatar
GP2tifoso28
GP2 Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: 29.09.2015, 14:21

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by GP2tifoso28 » 30.09.2015, 04:23

jujuandhuhu wrote:Thanks for the advice, guys.

I was hoping there was a simple way to fix the timing, irrespective of the processor occupancy. Since the game is still very popular, I assumed there was some sort of solution I didn't know about.
It's funny how F1GP has no timing issues, despite it being a much older game.
I seem to be having the same problem, no matter how high I push the PO or fiddle with the dosbox conf file my game seems to run consistently 20sec/lap fast, that's to say if I time a lap with a stopwatch the game will show (eg) 1m48 while my watch shows 1m28. Has anyone here had a similar problem or know how to fix it?

I run dosbox 0.74 with max cycles, dynamic core, opengl output, and hq3x scaler. This allows me to run full fps (except Monaco) and graphics with variable sky and mirror detail depending on track, to try and modulate the PO as close to 100% as possible.

Thanks for any assistance provided and thanks to everyone on this forum for keeping GP2 alive

ismael
GP2 Starter
Posts: 135
Joined: 02.05.2016, 14:58

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by ismael » 05.10.2017, 00:22

Hello,

I would like to bring this topic back as I've been having similar issues.
While playing with 23.2 frames/sec, the game looks a little too fast and considerably quicker than the clock (between 10 to 15 seconds faster than reality).
However, just changing to 21.3 frames/sec., the clock seems good but the game seems too slow. In this case, it's not the processor occupancy, which can be 58% or 63% (I don't bother removing details.) Especially in hairpins and slow corners, it's almost like the game is slowing, but it has nothing to do with processor occupancy.

I'm using, among other settings of D-Fend Reloaded, svga_s3 (VESA 2.0 compatible S3 SperVGA card).

Did this happen to anyone? Which is the ideal frame rate for you to play?

roland ratzenberger
GP2 Gamer
Posts: 180
Joined: 18.03.2010, 23:51

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by roland ratzenberger » 07.10.2017, 23:22

ismael wrote:
05.10.2017, 00:22
Hello,

I would like to bring this topic back as I've been having similar issues.
While playing with 23.2 frames/sec, the game looks a little too fast and considerably quicker than the clock (between 10 to 15 seconds faster than reality).
However, just changing to 21.3 frames/sec., the clock seems good but the game seems too slow. In this case, it's not the processor occupancy, which can be 58% or 63% (I don't bother removing details.) Especially in hairpins and slow corners, it's almost like the game is slowing, but it has nothing to do with processor occupancy.

I'm using, among other settings of D-Fend Reloaded, svga_s3 (VESA 2.0 compatible S3 SperVGA card).

Did this happen to anyone? Which is the ideal frame rate for you to play?
the frame rate which works best with me is 19.6.. howewer i think that you should give some attention in removing or altering some grapphic details

ismael
GP2 Starter
Posts: 135
Joined: 02.05.2016, 14:58

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by ismael » 08.10.2017, 08:40

roland ratzenberger wrote:
07.10.2017, 23:22
the frame rate which works best with me is 19.6.. howewer i think that you should give some attention in removing or altering some grapphic details
That's really interesting. I'ts really about each machine's response, as for me the 21.3 is still slow.
Eventually I've been doing that, playing with details and Ctrl-F12 to increase or decrease cycles. But it's still something between 21.3 and 23.2 - adding in D-Fend Reloaded the maximum memory (it turns out to be 63...?) surface render in graphics, emulation and CPU type "auto" and cpu cycles "max" [this in CPU option of D-Fend Reloaded] allows me to have lots of detail and playing with the mirrors details not to get the game so fast in 23.2 - because it still looks too slow in 21.3, even removing almost every details...

Well, has it has been discussed for years, the emulators and the machine capabilities seem to interfere a little with the game (once again, I think I could just get a spare computer or trying a dual partition with Windows 95...)

ismael
GP2 Starter
Posts: 135
Joined: 02.05.2016, 14:58

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by ismael » 08.10.2017, 08:47

ismael wrote:
08.10.2017, 08:40
roland ratzenberger wrote:
07.10.2017, 23:22
the frame rate which works best with me is 19.6.. howewer i think that you should give some attention in removing or altering some grapphic details
Roland, I'm asking you a favor. When you play with your ideal 19.6 frame rate, what's he difference between the game's clock and reality? I mean, when you do a lap in Estoril in 1m20s (something), if you put a real chronometer (like of a smartphone) next to you, how much real time would be the lap?

roland ratzenberger
GP2 Gamer
Posts: 180
Joined: 18.03.2010, 23:51

Re: GP2 Video Footage Project

Post by roland ratzenberger » 08.10.2017, 23:45

ismael wrote:
08.10.2017, 08:47
ismael wrote:
08.10.2017, 08:40
roland ratzenberger wrote:
07.10.2017, 23:22
the frame rate which works best with me is 19.6.. howewer i think that you should give some attention in removing or altering some grapphic details
Roland, I'm asking you a favor. When you play with your ideal 19.6 frame rate, what's he difference between the game's clock and reality? I mean, when you do a lap in Estoril in 1m20s (something), if you put a real chronometer (like of a smartphone) next to you, how much real time would be the lap?
hello ismael. IF i had seen your message earlier i would have tried to have done it today.. it was a busy sunday and i didnt have time to sit at at least for a while at the computer.. imagine that i am answering to you right now from my smarthphone.. yes mate no problem at all i would do it .... expect the results within one or two days( busy with work :x :x :x ) just take into account the following, that the framerate depends also on the hardware that you have

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests