steering wheel and grand prix 2

Here you can post questions about GP2, your favourite GP2 things and errorreports/problems!

steering wheel and grand prix 2

Postby roland ratzenberger » 21.06.2015, 23:31

hello again guys , after having seen this great video i would like to ask something and i would be gratefull if anyone can answer
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Du8ySd234JM


as you can see this guy drives with a steering wheele called virtual pilot pro.. what i want to ask is, if it is possible to purchase this via ebay. ??? furthermore would be easy to adjust and connect this steering wheel via dos box and usb

if the answers in the above questions is NO, is it possible to adjust properly modern an :-$ up to date steering wheels using dosbox??
roland ratzenberger
GP2 Starter
 
Posts: 125
Joined: 18.03.2010, 23:51

Re: steering wheel and grand prix 2

Postby tlm70 » 22.06.2015, 19:35

The Virtual Pilot Pro is a serial port or game port device. I think you should avoid using devices that connect using a serial port or game port. It's much easier to use a usb device in DOSBox. In most cases I can just plug in a usb gamepad and start DOSBox and then use whatever calibration menu is available within the game to setup the gamepad. You should be able to choose from many of the older and newer usb steering wheels that are available to purchase online.

I use the Playstation3 HKS Racing Controller and the PC/Playstation3 Thrustmaster Ferrari F430 Gamepad. They both have an "optical wheel" on the gamepad so you can steer the game using the thumb of your left hand.
Image Image

This is just my preference because they take up much less space than a steering wheel. If you want to use a steering wheel it might be helpful to post a new message asking what steering wheels other GP2 users prefer.
tlm70
GP2 Newbie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 21.01.2014, 03:36

Re: steering wheel and grand prix 2

Postby roland ratzenberger » 23.06.2015, 18:33

tlm70 wrote:The Virtual Pilot Pro is a serial port or game port device. I think you should avoid using devices that connect using a serial port or game port. It's much easier to use a usb device in DOSBox. In most cases I can just plug in a usb gamepad and start DOSBox and then use whatever calibration menu is available within the game to setup the gamepad. You should be able to choose from many of the older and newer usb steering wheels that are available to purchase online.

I use the Playstation3 HKS Racing Controller and the PC/Playstation3 Thrustmaster Ferrari F430 Gamepad. They both have an "optical wheel" on the gamepad so you can steer the game using the thumb of your left hand.
Image Image

This is just my preference because they take up much less space than a steering wheel. If you want to use a steering wheel it might be helpful to post a new message asking what steering wheels other GP2 users prefer.



well thank you my friend a lot for your reply and your answer... well to be honest i am not so interested to use a gamepad controler.. i have some of them in order to play pes , fifa and 2k but i prefer keyboard when it comes to racing games instead of a controller..in addition i have borrowed from one of my friend a new usb steering wheele but the result was somehow disappointing because i did not manage to make a perfect confuguration. In any case thats not a big problem i play with keyboard since i was 8 years old and had f1gp so i dont have problem to continue play with keyboard... but i would be gratefull if i could manage sometime to play gp2 with a steering wheele [-o<
roland ratzenberger
GP2 Starter
 
Posts: 125
Joined: 18.03.2010, 23:51

Re: steering wheel and grand prix 2

Postby tlm70 » 24.06.2015, 00:17

in addition i have borrowed from one of my friend a new usb steering wheele but the result was somehow disappointing because i did not manage to make a perfect confuguration


Have you tried running GP2 with DOSBox? What were the configuration problems with the usb steering wheel that you borrowed from your friend?
tlm70
GP2 Newbie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 21.01.2014, 03:36

Re: steering wheel and grand prix 2

Postby roland ratzenberger » 25.06.2015, 23:38

tlm70 wrote:
in addition i have borrowed from one of my friend a new usb steering wheele but the result was somehow disappointing because i did not manage to make a perfect confuguration


Have you tried running GP2 with DOSBox? What were the configuration problems with the usb steering wheel that you borrowed from your friend?


hello my friend again . of course .. in windows 7 which is what i have is impossible to play gp2 in another way apart from dosbox..the problem which i had was on the steering and in the braking , there were times that i turn to much the wheel and the car turn just a little... other time i had the opossite.. BUT THE BIG PROBLEM was in the braking... anyway i believe that if i spend time i will find the solution , but due to the fact , that as i have said earlier i am used to play with keybord from my early childhood , i am not in a desperate need to fix that .. thats my opinion :)
roland ratzenberger
GP2 Starter
 
Posts: 125
Joined: 18.03.2010, 23:51

Re: steering wheel and grand prix 2

Postby tlm70 » 26.06.2015, 03:55

Ok. If you ever decide to try again with a steering wheel, just let me know and I'll try to help you get it calibrated.
tlm70
GP2 Newbie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 21.01.2014, 03:36

Re: steering wheel and grand prix 2

Postby ismael » 18.03.2017, 19:15

Let's say I have a Thrustmaster Ferrari Racing Wheel Red Legend Edition. Is this compatible/possible to calibrate? I have windows 8.1 and use D-Fend Reloaded to run Dosbox....
ismael
GP2 Newbie
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 02.05.2016, 14:58


Return to General Forum / Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron