gp2 programs do not work with windows 8.1

Here you can post questions about GP2, your favourite GP2 things and errorreports/problems!
Post Reply
ivanpiazza
GP2 Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 19.01.2014, 15:38

gp2 programs do not work with windows 8.1

Post by ivanpiazza » 19.01.2014, 15:52

Hello everyone.
I have a notebook with installed windows 8.1. GP2 works with DOSBox and D-Fend Reloaded. But gp2edit does not work. Other programs such as convert.exe (for files jams circuits), dox other programs do not work. :evil:
How can I fix the problem? I love GP2 :D and I would like it to work with windows 8.
Help! Please! [-o<
By Ivan 'Italy

Ps:sorry for my bad English :oops:

tlm70
GP2 Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: 21.01.2014, 03:36

Re: gp2 programs do not work with windows 8.1

Post by tlm70 » 22.01.2014, 21:27

You might be able to change the properties of GP2Edit to get it to run in 'compatabilty' mode by right clicking on it and selecting 'properties'. There might be a 'compatabilty' tab that will let you switch to older Windows modes like Win95 or Win98.
Last edited by tlm70 on 24.01.2014, 21:44, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RacerBG
GP2 Pro
Posts: 999
Joined: 09.08.2010, 17:57
Location: Bulgaria

Re: gp2 programs do not work with windows 8.1

Post by RacerBG » 23.01.2014, 17:52

GP2 Edit is not a DOS program. :lol: Try run it as a normal Windows problem. I know that Windows 8 is worse than 7 in terms of old programs support but I think that it should work.

User avatar
rremedio
GP2 Star
Posts: 1307
Joined: 14.01.2007, 15:05

Re: gp2 programs do not work with windows 8.1

Post by rremedio » 26.01.2014, 03:48

GP2Edit install program won't run at 64bit systems. If that's your case, you should download the zip file (won't use the installer) from GP2Edit downloads page.
"The Fox provides for himself. but God provides for the Lion" - The Marriage of Heaven and Hell by William Blake

Image

canon1753
GP2 Newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: 15.11.2008, 01:07

Re: gp2 programs do not work with windows 8.1

Post by canon1753 » 21.02.2014, 21:26

With one of my Win 8.1 machines, I have no sound, need to use it in no color on the scenery (Every race is a foggy race O:) ), and it is stuck on a small portion of the screen. Any guesses or help? I'll check for Win 7 help too.

Thanks!

canon1753
GP2 Newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: 15.11.2008, 01:07

Re: gp2 programs do not work with windows 8.1

Post by canon1753 » 22.02.2014, 19:51

It's getting there... Vdmsound and tweaking the dosconf has helped.

Post Reply