direct drive wheel

Here you can post questions about GP2, your favourite GP2 things and errorreports/problems!
Post Reply
User avatar
GP2tifoso28
GP2 Starter
Posts: 93
Joined: 29.09.2015, 14:21

direct drive wheel

Post by GP2tifoso28 »

Hi all I wanted to invest in a wheel and pedals however I heard the mythical Ted Meat expressing doubt in one of his streams as to the compatibility of direct drive wheel/pedal combos due to their tendency to not support combined axes.

Can anyone confirm if they've been able to get a direct drive wheel working in gp2? Whatever I get it has to be compatible with gpx series otherwise its a deal breaker. I don't want 2 different setups 1 for gpx 1 for iracing its not practical for me.

Ted Meat uses thrustmaster so worst case scenario I'll go with that.

Thanks guys
User avatar
samsepi0l
GP2 Racer
Posts: 318
Joined: 01.03.2019, 01:39

Re: direct drive wheel

Post by samsepi0l »

I use old logitech wheels. I have 4 spares in my basement for situations incase I might have a problem. Right now I have a set of pedals that the potentiometer for the brake was acting up so I took it apart. It turns out the previous owner had a dog, and dog hair got inside the potentiometer. I cleaned it up and it started working again. I bought some newer style potentiometers from digikey to retrofit it with better parts, but I had issues and I need to re-visit this.
User avatar
GP2tifoso28
GP2 Starter
Posts: 93
Joined: 29.09.2015, 14:21

Re: direct drive wheel

Post by GP2tifoso28 »

Thanks, so that's 1 vote for Logitech. Do you run GP3/GP4 as well? Appreciate any further input

I should clarify: obviously gp2 does not have force feedback. My desire to get a direct drive wheel is for iracing, however I don't currently have a wheel and for me its a must to experience gpx with a wheel. I want to run all 5 titles, so the wheel must be compatible with gp1, gp2, gp3, gp3-2000, and gp4.

I don't want to risk paying for expensive gear only to find its not compatible with gpx

If anyone has concrete experience with this please let me know, thanks
User avatar
GP2tifoso28
GP2 Starter
Posts: 93
Joined: 29.09.2015, 14:21

Re: direct drive wheel

Post by GP2tifoso28 »

I plan to run it on Linux by the way, which puts another spanner in the works ( Microsoft = :dumppc: :dumppc: :dumppc: )
User avatar
samsepi0l
GP2 Racer
Posts: 318
Joined: 01.03.2019, 01:39

Re: direct drive wheel

Post by samsepi0l »

I only play gp2 and icr2. Everything is run through Dosbox ECE which works good with "timed = true" like Ted Meat described. Both games get good resolution like this so I have a wide steering range. I have been using my "primary" wheel (that I bought in 2017) with no problems since then. The only issue I had was with the pedals.

I have a dual boot on my racing PC which I built myself in 2013. It was quite fast back then, but now obviously much better hardware is available. I have linux (Debian) on it and windows 7. I only use windows 7 since so many of the tools for icr2 and gp2 kind of need it.

Anytime I am doing anything not related to gp2/icr2 playing or editing I am using my 2010 built computer running linux mint.
Post Reply