I want to put more cars on the track during practice

Here you can post questions about GP2, your favourite GP2 things and errorreports/problems!
Post Reply
User avatar
samsepi0l
GP2 Starter
Posts: 53
Joined: 01.03.2019, 01:39

I want to put more cars on the track during practice

Post by samsepi0l » 25.04.2019, 05:30

is there a way to put more cars on the track so it's more crowded during practice?

User avatar
rremedio
GP2 Star
Posts: 1277
Joined: 14.01.2007, 15:05

Re: I want to put more cars on the track during practice

Post by rremedio » 25.04.2019, 06:22

There is a parameter in the Slot and Tyre Editor 4 which will change the limit for the number of ccs at once in qualifying (not sure if it affects free practice, it has been a long time).

But it is just a limit and GP2 does some calculations which I don't understand depending on the session time and probably other things to get to the actual number of ccs at the same time in a session.

That parameter was better to decrease that number than increase if I remember correctly. But I never tested it too much.

I don't know of any other way of affecting this.
"The Fox provides for himself. but God provides for the Lion" - The Marriage of Heaven and Hell by William Blake

Image

User avatar
samsepi0l
GP2 Starter
Posts: 53
Joined: 01.03.2019, 01:39

Re: I want to put more cars on the track during practice

Post by samsepi0l » 25.04.2019, 06:27

I will try it.

Once I get good enough to be fast on a circuit I like to practice with other cars around. Being fast by yourself and being able to go with traffic are 2 different things.

I will let you know.

ismael
GP2 Gamer
Posts: 169
Joined: 02.05.2016, 14:58

Re: I want to put more cars on the track during practice

Post by ismael » 25.04.2019, 16:29

Not wanting to look like a troll (internet is quite depressing these days), but couldn't you just practice in traffic by starting a non-championship race from 26th, without qualifying? How do you think it's different from a practice session crowded?

User avatar
samsepi0l
GP2 Starter
Posts: 53
Joined: 01.03.2019, 01:39

Re: I want to put more cars on the track during practice

Post by samsepi0l » 25.04.2019, 18:18

ismael wrote:
25.04.2019, 16:29
Not wanting to look like a troll (internet is quite depressing these days), but couldn't you just practice in traffic by starting a non-championship race from 26th, without qualifying? How do you think it's different from a practice session crowded?
I like to adjust the car setup frequently, can't do that in race.

eky78
GP2 Starter
Posts: 84
Joined: 05.02.2012, 12:15
Contact:

Re: I want to put more cars on the track during practice

Post by eky78 » 25.04.2019, 19:48

Another way is increasing the Fuel load in the Game Settings of the GP2Edit. Although obviously it makes the cars heavier...

ismael
GP2 Gamer
Posts: 169
Joined: 02.05.2016, 14:58

Re: I want to put more cars on the track during practice

Post by ismael » 29.04.2019, 18:11

samsepi0l wrote:
25.04.2019, 18:18
ismael wrote:
25.04.2019, 16:29
Not wanting to look like a troll (internet is quite depressing these days), but couldn't you just practice in traffic by starting a non-championship race from 26th, without qualifying? How do you think it's different from a practice session crowded?
I like to adjust the car setup frequently, can't do that in race.
Good point, you're right. Although I might point that saving the game in Pre-Race Practice after each set-up change - and then load game after quitting the race could possibly be almost the same.

Post Reply